Block 635: April 19, 2015

IMG_0516

Considering I wrote about Crane 634 last night at 8pm, I might not have much to say today. Right…

Date: April 19, 2015

Crane: 635

Days Spent on Project: 789

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: In the spring of 2013, I was asked by a friend to design costumes for a workshop of a piece that was part dance, part opera, part theater piece. It was an over 2 hour choral piece, and it had about a dozen dancers who had a few weeks to create the movement that would tell the story… of the creation of the world, the the creation of society, the division of the group into two, the birth and growth of a Messianic-like figure, and then the resolution that brought society back together.

My friend Jeremy was producing and choreographing it. We talked about what we could do with the small resources and limited timeframe that we had.

Jeremy was smart enough to bring on an assistant choreographer to work on the project. His name was Scott L.

I’m not sure how much of Scott’s work made it onto the stage when we presented the workshop for two performances in May of 2013 at Riverside Church. But, talking to him backstage and then continuing to talk on Facebook later on, I realized I should try to keep in touch with him. We talked a few times about getting together at least to introduce our dogs, but the opportunity never really happened. Looking back, I should have tried to make it happen. Just a little harder.

I’m foggy on the details, but I believe he works with Yoga and Meditation and movement for therapeutic ends. He posted recently on Facebook about a retreat on the Greek Islands this summer, to teach Yoga.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m still going through Madonna’s career. I’m on the Greatest Hits right now…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I think I would like to be lazy today… which means I should get to the gym, get my hair cut, run some errands, and then settle in tonight for what is sure to be an interesting week at work.

But, my dog has the right idea. He’s been following the sunbeam this morning as it’s progressed across the hard wood floors of my apartment. He’s crawled from my living room, to my bedroom, and he’s now on the balcony pressed against the wall… trying to soak up that last bit of sun before it leaves the floor for the day.

Please leave a reply!

