Block 633: April 17, 2015

IMG_0416

Friday. We made it. TOMGIF.

Date: April 17, 2015

Crane: 633

Days Spent on Project: 787

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: When I took the job at Providence College, I only needed to visit them three times before I stayed for a week long residency in the winter. This begged the question.. “What do I do with my dog when I need to be in Rhode Island for an entire day?” I would have to get up at 4am to get ready, get myself to Penn Station, take a three and a half hour train ride, have fittings or meetings, then return on another three and a half hour train ride… if Amtrak was on schedule.

So, I had to drop off the dog the night before… somewhere else… and would pick him up a full 24 hours later

I had just moved to Washington Heights, and I didn’t have a dog walker yet. I’d need someone a little more heavy duty than that. I needed a dog sitter.

So, I was recommended to a guy who was starting his dog walking business. He had been insured. He would watch the dog(s) in his large apartment. He seemed chill.

His name was Alex. I would end up leaving my dog with him several times during that project- up to a week at one point- so I could leave town and not feel guilty about it.

As cool as Alex was, my dog (as co-dependent as he and I are) was always a little disappointed to be left there.

Frenchies are certainly loyal!

Music I listened to while sewing: Again, with Madonna this morning. Can you believe that her “Confessions on a Dance Floor” album is a decade old this year?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Say what you will about your circumstances or your situation or your coworkers, but…

It really all boils down to leadership. If the ship isn’t steered by a commander who displays that he wants to lead, has the trust of those under him, has an awareness of what’s going on, has a desire to make change that’s needed and not change that he wants… well, your ship isn’t going to go very far.

Unless the people rowing the oars are just incredibly talented and focused and willing and wanting to work because they believe in the work.

I think trickle-down economics have been completely disproven at this point, but maybe there is something to say about trickle down leadership.

Please leave a reply!

