Block 629: April 13, 2015

IMG_0406

Today, the costume shop is taking the day off; not having to be anywhere on a Monday is giving me life.

Date: April 13, 2015

Crane: 629

Days Spent on Project: 783

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: At the Fort Tryon dog park, Amra would sometimes be accompanied by her husband, Heinrich. Sometimes he would show up without her, depending on their work schedules.

He was a musician, who played in the orchestras on Broadway, but also taught music education to young children to stay busy. I remember him talking about subbing into the orchestra for Newsies occasionally; I was always interested to hear about that, learning how that “little show” was beating the odds and playing very well on Broadway.

Eventually, Amra and Heinrich adopted another Frenchie. The name escapes me– it might have been Stu, but I can’t remember specifically. Their new Frenchie was slightly more aggressive than Frankie so their trips to the dog park became less and less frequent, which made me sad. The last time I spoke to them, they were trying to buy a house in New Jersey. I’m not sure they managed to get that house at the time, but I hope things worked out for them.

In the summer of 2013, Rick and I brought our dogs over to Heinrich and Amra’s apartment in Washington Heights to watch the Tonys. Amra was slated to introduce some of the awards and was featured in some of the numbers, as Velma. That was pretty exciting. At that moment, the Broadway community felt small and welcoming and– even though I hadn’t been lucky enough to work on a Broadway show in a year– I felt like I was a part of it.

But I was becoming slightly cynical towards it then. I was about to get thrown under the bus by a Costume Designer for an upcoming show, fired because she was caught in a hard spot.

If the current direction of my life continues, that was my last opportunity to work on the Broadway level. And that makes me a little sad.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today I have the opera Eugene Onegin playing in the background.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: As much as I wanted this day off, I’m still fighting the urge to “pop in” and make sure nothing catastrophic happened over the weekend.

Maybe I’ll just check my email…

… And then go about my business, doing other things.

Please leave a reply!

