Block 621: March 4, 2015

IMG_0267_2

I am a very light sleeper here; I was up at 4am!

Date: March 4, 2015

Crane: 621

Days Spent on Project: 743

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: I don’t remember very many people involved with the production of White Christmas I helped remount at Paper Mill Playhouse back in 2011… Most of the people in the costume shop were the same people I had just worked with on Newsies a month prior, and have already been acknowledged here.

But there are two actors that I will thank. They, hands down, kept the project interesting up until the very end. And I won’t go into details about the experience, but there opinions on the costumes just further confirmed the lesson that– even with a remount of a show that’s been done and performed and toured for years, even with a remount that’s been designed intelligently for multiple future productions– you always need to stay on your toes and think through the choices that WERE made and think how do you make them apply to new actors who might want to put their own spin on their roles.

How do you maintain the design integrity of a show that you’ve been hired to unpack and put on new actors when OR if the actors don’t understand what’s come before?

The first actor was someone I had previously seen on Broadway in the revival of Arcadia. He played the butler in that production, and he would be playing the General in this White Christmas.

This one will be for Ed H.

He was very concerned about the accuracy of his ties. Which was actually kinda fun.

Music I listened to: Beyonce while sewing, “Classical” by Pandora while typing in the shop.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: We are in full out production mode in the shop today. Gone are the days of people not having anything to do, and looking for ways to fill time. It’s nice to have projects in hand and some really great costumes being built in house for once.

I didn’t sleep very well last night. Bad dreams that involved moving and getting rid of clothes and my old bedroom in Indiana. I have no idea what’s going on…

 

One thought on “Block 621: March 4, 2015

  1. I totally got Chicago and environs when I saw today’s crane. In the words of Arsenio Hall, “The things that make you go hmmm……….”

Please leave a reply!

