Block 619: March 2, 2015

IMG_0245

Big ole case of the Mondays over here.

Date: March 2, 2015

Crane: 619

Days Spent on Project: 741

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: I feel like I skipped some of the productions that kept me busy in between the workshop production and the Broadway transfer of the ill-fated theater piece that I was eventually fired from.

I worked twice more at Paper Mill Playhouse; once on a remounted production of White Christmas and then on a remount of the Broadway revival of A Chorus Line. For White Christmas, it was almost the same team in the shop. China and I were the costume coordinators, working with the same Shop Manager and assistant shop manager.

We were tasked with going out to this pseudo-abandoned warehouse in the middle of Elizabeth, New Jersey, and sorting through all the old costumes that were used on Broadway and the national tours of White Christmas. We didn’t have a bible to work from; we had one of the old Associates and Wardrobe Supervisors. His name was Lee.

I wish I remembered his last name.

White Christmas is an enormous show. I don’t know how we would have figure out all the many, many costume changes and all the costume pieces and the reasons behind all the pieces without him.

He had also worked on Jersey Boys when it first opened on Broadway. In fact, I think he worked with Jess (and China) more than a few times. Again, the community that works on Broadway is much smaller than you think.

I wish I remembered his last name!

Music I listened to while sewing: More Beyonce. Because I really need to feel like a diva today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: For the moment, I feel like I’m waving a white flag here.

You just can’t win here.

I don’t know if I’m disappointed with the theater, with myself, with the work, with the reality of regional theater, with the city, with my move, with my choices, etc.

I won’t say anymore. It’s not worth sounding whiny.

Please leave a reply!

