Block 617: February 28, 2015

IMG_0241

Last day of the shortest month of the year.

Date: February 28, 2015

Crane: 617

Days Spent on Project: 739

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: When I was working on that ill-fated theater piece during May of 2013, I tried to assemble a team who would work on the show as we got it to Broadway. I also was designing another show at the time- something kinda small but big enough that I couldn’t do both without help.

I called a few friends and asked if anyone was available or wanted to work on it. Not many people were available; even fewer people wanted to work on it. But, a friend recommended I call Matt K. He was/is an artist who dapples in costumes and construction and has a growing fan base as someone in the burlesque community.

I asked Matt to meet me in the studio we were renting in the garment district one morning to see if it was something we wanted to work on together. He was super interesting and fun and would have been sorta perfect with his interest in the costumes I wanted to put together.

However, before I could solidify that with Matt, I was let go from the ill-fated theater piece. I suddenly had time to focus on that one small-ish project, so I did. I told Matt, due to some unfortunate circumstances, I wasn’t going to need his help anymore. I should have kept him on. I could have used some help in general at that time.

Music I listened to while sewing: Beyonce today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m not going to write anything down for this entry. Nothing personal, but I’m not really thinking about much other than a few very specific things and I don’t want to post them for the world to see.

There’s so much left to accomplish.

 

Please leave a reply!

