Block 616: February 27, 2015

IMG_0234

Happy birthday to me!

36 today.

Date: February 27, 2015

Crane: 616

Days Spent on Project: 738

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: When I started working on the Broadway transfer of that ill-fated theater piece back in 2013, I spent two weeks working on the show- its paperwork, assembling bids, organizing everything- before I was sacked.

In that time, I hired two assistants to work on it. (A show of its size needed two people full time to get everything under control… after the previous summer’s experience, I might have wanted a third!) One was my friend Sydney, who I wanted to work on it because she was good and had taste and also a sense of humor about things.

The other person I hired was Amy O.

She, in another case of the theater world being so incredibly small, is married to Driscoll O., a lighting designer that I had worked with in Providence. The two of them were NYU grads. Amy was, and still is, a costume designer.

When I hired Amy, I liked her attitude about the project and the work. But, before she could join the team, I was fired… I don’t really know if she ever came on board after that. I think she may have declined the offer to work on it, actually.

Again, very smart if she did.

Music I listened to while sewing: I had some Madonna on earlier today, but it’s now quiet. Everyone showed up to work and is being productive.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: So, it’s my birthday and I am so incredibly happy that it’s also Friday.

I can’t wait for a day off.

I can’t wait for this one show to JUST OPEN ALREADY. (The small contemporary shows are always the worst.)

Tonight’s opening night, but I’ve decided not to go. I’m not going to the opening night party afterwards.

I’m planning on going home, walking my dog, and passing out. And, hopefully, I won’t have to go into work at all this weekend. I’m kinda over work right now and I want a weekend.

So, being lazy for the next two days is hopefully my birthday present to myself.

I have my fingers crossed. I hope this can happen!

Please leave a reply!

