Block 614: February 25, 2015

IMG_0212

Ever have one of those days when you realize no matter how hard you try, pre-plan, discuss things, prepare, you’re just not going to win? Yesterday was one of those days. I went home at 5pm.

Date: February 25, 2015

Crane: 614

Days Spent on Project: 736

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: When all that crap went down in the Broadway transfer of that ill-fated show, I didn’t have much time to get to know the other people that were brought on board.

Much of my contact was with people in the general management office. Besides the guy who would ultimately fire me over the phone after two weeks of working without a contract, the company manager was Kate E.

Within minutes of being fired that evening, I received several emails from her… detailing that I was to stop by their offices to return my keys, sign my (withheld) contract, and turn over any receipts and the remains of the petty cash. From the timing of it all, I knew it had all been orchestrated. Such is life.

I don’t know anything else about Kate, nor do I care to.

When I showed up at the office the next day, she watched me sign a contract, she gave me a check for two weeks of work, took my keys and petty cash advance back, and then wished me luck.

Such is life. I wandered around Times Square for a bit, ending up near the Lunt-Fontaine where Motown was. I waited for my friend Mikey to finish up his wardrobe day call. We walked around for a bit.

I got drunk that night.

Music I listened to while sewing: We’ve got jazz on in the shop today!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I don’t really know what’s going on in my life right now.

We’re opening our seventh show of the season on Friday. We’ve start fittings for our eighth tomorrow. They’re most likely going to announce next year’s season tomorrow. I’ve learned so much here in the past seven month. I’ve had so many thoughts about this experience. I’ve had so many questions.

I’m trying. I’m looking. I’m hoping.

I, in the end, feel that everything that’s happened to me and everyone that I’ve met along the way will eventually get me somewhere. And I hope I know where that somewhere is when I’m there. I hope some place feels right… or better… or passable.

I actually hope that someplace DOES feel RIGHT. I don’t think that’s too much to ask. I don’t.

Anyway, off to make some paperwork.

Please leave a reply!

