Block 609: February 19, 2015

IMG_0170

Sometimes you put things out into the universe, and sometimes the universe responds back?

Date: February 19, 2015

Crane: 609

Days Spent on Project: 730

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Back in the summer of 2012, I was contacted out of the blue one Friday night to work on a musical… in a workshop… in a polished production… off-Broadway… going to Broadway… downtown at a theater I’d worked at before.

I should have declined the offer. I was already busy enough, and I was coating on a high from having opened Newsies a month or two prior; I was feeling capable.

The designer I worked with was from out of town. She was new to the production herself, and she had been brought on board at the last minute (did I mention this was a Friday night and the first rehearsal was the next Tuesday?) by the Assistant Director, who also was brought on at the last minute.

The Assistant Director was Mindy C. She was actually incredibly prepared and pleasant to work with. All our interactions happened through the designer, but I still respected Mindy for the work she did and the calm and strong attitude that she displayed throughout that process.

Music I listened to while sewing: Back in tech rehearsals for another show, so no music today. And everyone in the shop is super hard at work… no one’s even talking!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, in the past 24 hours (has it only been 24 hours?), I’ve talked to people in Wisconsin, Massachusetts, and DC about potential work. I have no idea what’s going on right now, or what I’m thinking with this, but I put it out into the universe.

It’s one of those days… Yesterday never seemed to end; I got to the theater by 8:30am and didn’t leave until almost midnight.

Okay, off for more coffee!

Please leave a reply!

