Block 602: February 12, 2015

IMG_0096_2

Thursday! So close to the weekend!

Date: February 12, 2015

Crane: 602

Days Spent on Project: 723

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Margie A.

I met Margie when I was hired to work at Elm Shakespeare in New Haven, CT back in the summer of 2012.

She was/is married to James A., the artistic director; together they run that company and have turned it into an annual “event” of sorts. It’s a theater experience, outside, that people look forward to and attend. I think that’s great, and a needed reminder to me that things start small and then grow, but not without struggles and hardships and hard work and long hours and difficulties. And also rewards.

I need to get a little more of that energy and drive out here.

Music I listened to while sewing: Rihanna’s “S&M” is playing in the costume shop and I find that so incredibly surprising knowing who works in the shop with me!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I have another phone interview for a summer job this afternoon. This will be my second with the same company.

I’m nervous about it- not that I won’t get it or that I won’t be able to do it- but because there’s a chance they might offer it. I’m not sure it’s the right thing for me at this time- it’s only for a few months, it pays less, I’d have to board my dog for three months elsewhere, I’d have to quit this job in Portland. I’m not sure it’s right or even better, but it’s a chance to interview and see what’s out there.

See, already, I feel like I’m giving up on something if I were to leave here. It’s only been seven months (in three days it’s my 7 month anniversary here!), and I understand that more time is needed before I’ll find my groove or place here.

We’ll see. An interview can never hurt… right?

Please leave a reply!

