Block 601: February 11, 2015

IMG_0094

Wednesday. Halfway through the week!

Date: February 11, 2015

Crane: 601

Days Spent on Project: 722

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: James A.

After Newsies, I moved onto two projects. One of which was a rather torturous project that I’ll need to get to and then the other was for a friend in New Haven. My friend Elizabeth B., the wardrobe mistress at the Yale Rep, hired me to work with her on a summer theater production of MacBeth in 2012; I’d spend four weeks commuting to and from New Haven, CT with my dog, for the project.

James was the director and Artistic Director of that production. His work is admirable; he and his wife have taken this idea- a summer Shakespeare or two to be performed outside in a New Haven park- and made it a event for the summer. Despite the mugginess of performing outside in Connecticut in July and August, it’s become something that people attend.

I don’t know who else was on board when the company started, or if it were his pet passion project, but he’s still at the helm and making it happen.

And that’s really admirable to create that drive.

I was only involved with it for one summer (almost three years ago now!). The commute was rough- both on money and time- but I’m glad to have been able to help my friend as much as I could.

I wish I spent more time thanking people in person.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Madonna’s last album on (MDNA) this morning. I had a long Facebook debate about her and her new music with friends in New York. I’ve decided that I believe her performance and music is beyond the term “age-appropriate” now; and I think it’s fairly awesome.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The first step is to take the first step.

I think I need to do some research on a lot of things right now. I think I need to become a more interesting person and flesh out my interests and own them for what they are… my interests.

Time to research opportunities and then to figure out how to make them happen on my own or with others.

It’s so easy to go home from work and not do anything; this idea that “I’ve worked 8 hours today, so my day is done” is actually pretty deadly. I can’t complain about not having enough time to do things when there are 4-5 hours every night to work on things!

I should have so many more balls in the air than I do here.

Please leave a reply!

