Block 599: February 9, 2015

IMG_0089_2

Well, I’m almost at 600.

Date: February 9, 2015

Crane: 599

Days Spent on Project: 720

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Well, so…

I’ll allow myself to be the gushing fan-boy for this brief little moment, and then I’ll move on. Don’t read anything more into it than that.

When I first saw Sleep No More, one of the first characters I saw was the Boy Witch. It’s not original of me to say that character drew me in immediately and I felt the need to follow him as long as I could, altering between feeling awesome and cool and sad and excited and sexy and scared, as that character went through that loop of scenes in the building. I would not be lying if I said that every time I hear Peggy Lee sing “Is That All There Is?,” I imagine the Boy Witch standing next to microphone with smeared eye liner running down his face.

While it wasn’t the first character I saw in the building on that first trip (that would be Danvers), nor was it my first one on one (that would be Lady MacDuff… and I have to admit I’ve never had the Boy Witch’s one on one, which makes me want to keep trying), it was and is Boy Witch that drew me into that show and made me feel like I was somehow a part of that building, like I was being invited into that building and not just watching unnoticed.

My Boy Witch (my first) was Conor D.

So, maybe he started the fascination with it all. Maybe. But I don’t want it to seem like I’m blaming anyone, because I’m actually so glad I was sucked in by it all.

Music I listened to while sewing: Nothing today.

I hear that the Grammy’s were last night. I don’t recognize most of the names or the songs, so I feel really on top of the pop culture world right now.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: So, last week I set some things in motion, in case Portland wasn’t going to be a long term thing. I’ve already received phone calls and emails.

Now I feel weird.

Here we go.

Please leave a reply!

