Block 591: January 31, 2015

IMG_0044

Last day in January!

January 31, 2015

Crane: 591

Days Spent on Project: 711

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: It didn’t take me long before I just accepted that I was slightly enchanted with the Sleep No More experience in New York. I would not say that I’m obsessed; I know of some people who’ve seen the show countless times- into the hundreds. (That’s obsessed.)

But, over the ten times I went to the McKittrick Hotel, I did meet some pretty cool people. I already thanked a friend Katie S., who went with me a few times.

Through Katie, I met Danielle S. on what was probably my third or fourth visit. I don’t know much about Danielle, but when I was introduced to her in line the night we all went, she was dressed to the nines, looking elegant and incredibly appropriate for the show we were about to watch. She could have been a character in the experience.

That night, as I stumbled through the show, following my fancies, Danielle was on a mission. She’s one of the few people to have found Hecate’s ring and presented it to her. Afterwards, as Katie and Danielle and I walked away from the McKittrick towards Chelsea, she was proud to announce she had accomplished that, but she didn’t (wouldn’t?) say what happened next… other than something BIG did happen next.

When I worked the SNM Halloween party back in 2013, I saw Danielle with her husband in line, waiting to be let into the party. I didn’t get the chance to say hello to them that night, but I was glad they were there.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got the “Top 100 songs on Spotify” playlist on right now, and I have no idea what any of these songs are…

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I came home from work last night, made myself a sandwich, ate it, and promptly took an hour nap. When I woke up at 7:30ish, I decided I needed to get out of the apartment. Not knowing what to do, I went to Powell’s to look at books. I thought I would see if any movies were playing, but I never got around to it.

My theater is around the corner from Powell’s… and there was a show opening last night. After deciding I didn’t need to spend $50 on more books, I stopped by.

I didn’t stay for most of the party- I left by 9:30 as the Opening Party was starting- but I did get to see some people from work and talk.

I am learning that there is a small amount of toxic energy in that building, and I’m learning that it may be best to put up boundaries and stop getting sucked down those roads.

Yeah, that theater- and all theater in general- isn’t perfect. Yeah, we’re not paid as much as we could be. Yeah, we don’t have a lot of resources. Yeah, we’re growing and experiencing growing pains.

But, there is an undercurrent of frustration there, and I don’t really want to be a part of it.

Theater is hard. It is. But we (I) get to do it. I’m making my living off of it here, so I have to be thankful for that.

But, jeez, that level of negativity cuts under everything here. I hate to say that it might be best to treat it solely like a job and not invest anything in the experience in that building, but I’m starting to see why I’ve felt like people check out rather than dive fully into the work.

I don’t want to stay here for a long term if it’s going to make me doubt my worth as a theater artist, my skills as a theater artist, or my drive.

 

Please leave a reply!

