Block 587: January 27, 2015

IMG_0017

SNOW-POCALYPSE?

How about NO-pocalypse…

Date: January 27, 2015

Crane: 587

Days Spent on Project: 707

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Kerry M.

Kerry was another one of the people that I met at Disney Theatricals when I was working on transferring Newsies to Broadway back in the late winter, early Spring of 2012.

She wasn’t a company manager attached to the production. I actually don’t know if she was directly connected to Newsies, but she was situated in the Disney offices next to all the Newsies people, so I just assumed that she was working with us on the show.

I liked her. She had a great energy and was always super pleasant and nice. I was always amazed and really intrigued (because at that point in 2012, I saw the writing on the wall and knew that I was going to have to leave my tiny apartment on the UES) that she lived on the Lower East Side and loved it. She said it was the coolest neighborhood (which it is) and super safe (which I was surprised at) and pleasant (again, surprised me).

From what I understand, she still works at Disney Theatricals… glad she does.

Music I listened to while sewing: It’s the first day of rehearsal for another show, and a designer is in town from New York. We had some fun playing the “How do we know each other/6 degrees of separation” game this morning. So, right now, I’m listening to a fitting happening from across the costume shop.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m feeling the need to spend money today on myself. I don’t know if this is retail therapy, but I suddenly… just… want… stuff…

On a more serious note, I’d like to say that I’m officially at the point where this project has just become daunting. I have 413 more of these suckers to go and THEN I still have to figure out how to get all these blocks together and quilted.

And even still… do I have 413 more people that I want to thank? What if I run out? What if I just started adding in people like “that Starbucks barista who got me my coffee this morning?” What if it becomes about filler?

And HOW am I going to put all of this together? I have stacks of Cranes in my apartment right now… how will I manage to get all of this laid out and pinned and quilted and so on? Yikes.

It makes me realize that sometimes I start projects without fully realizing what kind of project I started.

Which leads me to Portland; I heard today, overheard in a conversation, that people in Portland move here because they want to move here. Someone was talking about the general pleasantness, the happy attitudes, the eagerness to welcome people in… While that hasn’t necessarily been my experience, I had to remember that I’m in this theater 6-7 days a week and I’m working with a lot of people who are probably overworked.

Portland isn’t a bad place. At all. My life is different than it was in New York and a Good Different. I can’t argue with that. If I were to leave Portland and If I were to head back to New York, it wouldn’t– it couldn’t– be the move that I did when I was 27. I don’t want to be unemployed and broke in New York again. If I moved back, I’d have to have a legitimate job and income.

Portland has spoiled me enough that I don’t want to have to fight to get paid for the work I do.

Which isn’t necessarily being spoiled, when you think about it. It’s really just admitting (to yourself, to myself, to the world) that you think you should be paid for work. And that payment shouldn’t come with the catch “you should buy your own materials with this money; whatever’s left is your fee.” The more I think about the string of jobs I was getting in late 2013 and early 2014, I’m floored that I felt I was lucky to be paid $300 for a week’s worth of working 14 hour days, non-stop.

Luck.

Anyway, I really want to partake in some retail therapy right now. I think I might buy myself a book (surprise) that costs $120 JUST BECAUSE I WANT IT.

I guess that’s a weird victory.

Please leave a reply!

