Block 584: January 24, 2015

IMG_0003

I think I’m finally able to get back on track with this. January was a hard month for me between the flu, two different tech rehearsals for two plays, a third play starting rehearsal, and a fourth play barreling down the “how do we do this” pipeline…

Date: January 24, 2015

Crane: 584

Days Spent on Project: 704

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Timothy E.

Timothy was a part of the stage management team on Newsies, when we first started putting the show together for its run at Paper Mill Playhouse. Later, when the show would transfer to Broadway, he would continue on with it until its run ended last summer.

He was always an interesting guy, and I liked working with him. I don’t know too much about him in his “outside theater” life, other than he’s in a fairly serious (if not completely serious) relationship with another guy, and he’s extremely into boating. I don’t know if the Newsies job afforded him the opportunity to buy a boat or rent one or lease one or what-have-you, but most all the posts I see from him on Facebook were about a boat and sailing.

It’s possible that the boat was a living situation with him and his partner.

But, from what I understand (again on Facebook), he recently left New York for California. It sounds like he and his partner are traveling by car and visiting several places along the way. I think they were just in New Mexico.

Again, don’t know what new adventure awaits him out west, but I trust it’s a good and needed one.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Spotify playing through all my “Starred” songs right now. Currently listening to “Lovely Sweet Divine” by Eelke Kleijn.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: On weekend mornings, I usually sleep in (until 8am!), walk my dog, and then head to a Starbucks that’s five blocks away for a Venti Coffee. When I slowly walk back to my apartment, and Portland is still quiet and the sidewalks are super wet from some kind of precipitation that happened over night, it feels like this could be a good city to live in…

And then the day happens, and I’m left wondering how long it’s worth it to stay here.

In the past week, after the opening of Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike, for some reason, the people in the theater seem to have a different attitude towards me. They seem more open. They seem nicer. I don’t know if that show was a test on their/my part, but I seem to have passed it and passed it well.

I was also asked to give a talk to audiences this past week. Apparently the crowd of about 40 was larger than they’ve had in a while. It’s nice to get positive feedback from outside the building as well.

That helps.

I still have a lot of work to do to raise awareness (both inside and outside the building) of how much work goes into building show specific costumes. I have so much work to do here.

On side notes… a colleague from New York supposedly moved to Portland yesterday to start teaching on Monday for three semesters. She and I both hope to take this town by storm soon… when she gets her bearings.

And, my connection to LA, who allowed me to crash on his couch the few times I visited LA, has left to move to New York.

What is it about 2014 and 2015 that make them such migratory years?

Is anyone settled yet? Has anyone settled yet?

Please leave a reply!

