Block 582: January 19, 2015

IMG_7974

I finished watching all of Parks and Recreation last night. I may have cried.

Date: January 19, 2015

Crane: 582

Days Spent on Project: 700. I’ve been doing this for 700 days. SEVEN HUNDRED.

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Jackie R.

Jackie was the head of wardrobe at Paper Mill Playhouse, when I worked there for Newsies, White Christmas, and A Chorus Line. Because I was a self-proclaimed “paperwork junkie,” I was volunteered and volunteered myself to write up all the costume pieces in the show so that the wardrobe could understand what people wore, when they wore it, how they wore it, and so on. It was tedious, but I enjoyed formatting that Excel document and then re-working it over and over and over again.

In the end, I’m not sure it was good enough. The font always needed to be bigger. Or clearer. Or the lines needed to be underlined. Or it needed to be spaced apart more. Or less. Or the descriptions weren’t clear enough.

Wardrobe paperwork is incredibly complicated and personal. Some people will want you to do most of the work. Others will want to do it all themselves. It’s hard to know what kind of wardrobe supervisor you’re working with until you’ve worked with them a few times and see what helps their process along… or if there’s anything you can do to make their jobs/lives easier.

Music I listened to while sewing: Beyonce’s “Pretty Hurts.” It’s been on repeat all morning.

How many people in the world listen to this song and think it’s about them?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Someone I know from grad school is moving to Portland on Friday. I’m very excited by this, and I think it’s going to change things.

Meanwhile, some people keep asking why I’m not thinking about moving to Chicago.

I think the length of my stay in Portland will be determined by what the next season shapes up to be. If the current plans become permanent, I’m seeing the “opportunity” that I thought was here evaporate.

I hoped to make it here 2-3 seasons.

Anyway, it’s a national holiday so the theater is closed today. I don’t really have any plans, so I might go to Powell’s or a Starbucks and sit and read something. I need to get to the gym again. I can pay bills.

Please leave a reply!

