Block 579: January 16, 2015

IMG_7944

Opening Night.

Date: January 16, 2015

Crane: 579

Days Spent on Project: 697

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Chris S.

Chris works in the administration offices at Paper Mill. His first season was the season that Newsies opened; he had just moved to New Jersey from Chicago, and was working under Todd S., who I had worked with a few years prior at Peninsula Players in Wisconsin.

Todd, in fact, introduced me to Chris during Newsies tech. He said the two of us should hang out.

We did. Later that fall, he would come to New York City and we had a few meals, drank a few drinks, and saw a movie. I assumed they were dates. I’m still not quite sure if he did, or if those situations were just friendly meetings.

(Looking back, I wish they were more serious. I guess. It would have been nice.)

He still works with Paper Mill, but also has a fairly full-time commitment with the New York City Gay Men’s chorus. He travels with them, has performed on TV with them, and he really enjoys it from what I gather.

The last time he and I hung out, we went to see a Roundabout show and caught a drink in Midtown. That was back in 2013, it was gross and cold and February… I had just recently started this project (I think I had just made my tenth crane or so), and he was impressed by what I was about to undertake and he was surprised that I was going to try a project as big as this was going to get. He still fairly frequently likes the Cranes that he sees, so it’s nice to still have the support.

He’s a good guy.

Music I listened to while sewing: Today I have on the Spotify playlist for Punchdrunk’s The Drowned Man. Remember how much I talked about that show, and wanting to get to London to see it before it closed? Remember there was an opportunity to go to London and take a masterclass with the Punchdrunk production designers and how I couldn’t in any way afford a trip like that at the time?

I still think about that missed opportunity frequently.

It’s still a goal of mine to work with them.

I really want to work with them.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It seems crazy that a month ago today, on the 16th, we started rehearsals for this production and today we’re opening it. I know four weeks is a standard amount of time to rehearse, tech, preview, and open a show, but jeez… I feel like so much has happened in the past four weeks!

Anyway, with this job, I’m becoming more and more aware of how thankful I should be that I got the chance to design here and design something in general. I miss designing. I’d be upset if this job and it’s many commitments kept me from designing in the future because shop managing is its own full-time job.

I’d like to design again here, if the situation was right.

I’m not quite sure if the theater itself would want me to design again here. I have no reason to believe otherwise, but the non-event of the work here makes me feel like I didn’t do something to be a part of the team.

I’d like to find a group or a theater where I felt like I was a part of a team working towards something… I’d like that.

I know I should go to Opening tonight to celebrate the show and the work I did and the work we did in the shop. I will go. I want to be a presence in this building.

Anyway, I should allow myself to be happy about the work I did and move on. We start teching another show next week and then rehearsals for another show the following week and then this particular show closes and we go into another tech immediately after… the roller coaster ride of the second half of the season has started.

Please leave a reply!

