Block 577: January 14, 2015

IMG_7938

Zero to sixty to zero to sixty to zero.

Date: January 14, 2015

Crane: 577

Days Spent on Project: 695

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Rodney G.

Rodney is a milliner in New York that makes hats (obviously). I first met him back in 2010, when we were working on Priscilla Queen of the Desert and he was hired to build all the show girl headdresses for one particular fantasy sequence. I forget exactly how it was put together, but the finished pieces were eruptions of pink ostrich feathers on top of sequined, crystal covered bases.

We hired him for Newsies for something a little less fabulous. We needed him to make two custom made straw hats for the female lead- one was going to be a straw boater, and the other was a smaller tricorne shaped hat. They, in the end, were really cute.

You got the sense of so much history when you went to his studio, that was hidden behind a much larger costume shop (Parsons-Meares) in the garment district. How many shows had he worked on exactly?

Music I listened to while sewing: Nothing again. It’s really quiet in the shop. No one is even talking today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’ve been thinking a lot about what the difference is between ambition and going the extra mile versus just doing what is expected and maybe doing the bare minimum to squeak by. I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around the expectations here.

I’m having a hard time getting the drive up to work on this particular project right now, too.

I’m having a hard time finding the need to work on this particular project right now.

I’m having a hard time remembering that I once thought this particular project was important, that it had something to say.

I’m having a hard time here in Portland in general.

I’m having a hard time getting excited about things here. Things happen so quickly and so frequently here at work that no one thing feels important or stimulating. I’m getting tired of feeling like I have to overcompensate on the excitement (we get to do this!) for each project, when so many people would rather talk about scheduling time off.

I’m feeling very blase about most things that happen here. My work on this one particular show is done, and everyone in the shop is already bored and not looking forward to the next project. I guess I just feel like I can’t win with the people here.

I would like something to happen. I would like something crazy to go down. I would like something abnormal to fly through the shop. I would like something to distract me.

 

One thought on “Block 577: January 14, 2015

  1. I hope something exciting happens to you too 🙂 That’s really cheesy but I really enjoy reading your posts and hearing about your work. Costuming is a field I’m thinking of maybe going into and your descriptions of all the people you work with are fascinating.

Please leave a reply!

