Block 574: January 11, 2015

IMG_7932

Into the woods / Outta the woods.

Date: January 11, 2015

Crane: 574

Days Spent on Project: 692

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Jeff F.

Jeff is an… artist? I would normally call him a Costume Craftsperson, but his skill set and his influence seems to be growing immensely. I first met him back in 2010, in Toronto; he was flown in from New York to paint and distress all the everyday “day wear” in Priscilla Queen of the Desert before in lumbered into the States. He set up shop, over three or four days, in a small closet in the basement of the Princess of Wales Theatre and airbrushed who knows how many clothes for us.

I would later recommend him to work on distressing the new clothes we were having built for the Broadway production of Newsies. He was quick, and he knew what he was doing! (Julianne, who helped us on the Paper Mill leg of Newsies, was working in his studio out in Williamsburg at that point…) Every time I would stop by, he would be working on something new and crazy- Again, there were connections to the fashion industry (Victoria Secret runway shows) and the music industry and all the theater that was happening in Times Square. That was always pretty cool.

Jeff would also have (and he still does) throw these wicked, crazy Christmas parties in his artist’s studio. I’ve only been to one– and I regretfully didn’t stay very long– but it was an amazing experience.

Music I listened to while sewing: This is the first time I’ve put on Spotify in over a week… I’ve got Beyonce on in the background, for the moment.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Another day in tech rehearsal and our second preview tonight. I think everyone is calming down a bit– myself included– and for that I’m grateful.

(Which is good, because we’re knee deep in another show that starts tech rehearsals next weekend. Woof.)

Today, I woke up after eight hours of sleep, with my dog curled up next to me and I felt alright. So I’m feeling back on track. I don’t know what last week was about, between the flu and tech rehearsals, but it’s almost over.

Okay, running to work.

Ciao.

Please leave a reply!

