Block 570: January 7, 2015

IMG_7907

I’ve had the flu. Trying to get back on track today…

Date: January 7, 2015

Crane: 570

Days Spent on Project: 688

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Brent B.

Brent is a costume technician, I guess. I first worked with him in the spring of 2011, when Candice and I were putting together that opera for the Manhattan School of Music. He was someone recommended to us by some designer friends from NYU. He made “jellyfish” hats for us (don’t ask; it was for a nightmare sequence/scene) that I thought were pretty interesting. They cost us $400 PER HAT, which seemed like a bargain at the time (but now, living in Portland, that seems SO EXPENSIVE), but then… on their first appearance on stage during tech/staging rehearsals they were cut.

Oops.

Anyway, I tried to work again with Brent in 2013, on another big show with no money, but the timing never worked out. He was pretty good building craft-oriented and interesting things.

Last I heard, he had taken a job running a costume shop with a small university program in the city.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m sitting in the back of our theater’s auditorium today (It’s the first tech rehearsal, guys!), so no music at the moment.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m having a day, trying to reacclimatize myself to the world after spending three days in bed.

Not that there’s any good time to get sick, but losing three to four days before a show goes onto the stage. Woof.

Anyway, it’s good to be out of bed and functioning again.

Something I realized while I was in bed this past weekend… a year ago, I was suffering through the beginnings of the Polar Vortex that was messing up the weather system all along the East Coast. I was flying down to Little Rock, Arkansas for a PIPPIN production meeting. I would end up stuck in the Atlanta airport due to the weather. I slept on the floor. I had to finagle and run around to figure out a way to get back to New York.

I ended up flying from Little Rock to Atlanta to Richmond, VA. Then I had to take the train from Richmond to DC where our engine went out for hours. We finally made it to Penn Station in New York at 3am. I tried to take one cab home, but then the cab hit another car. The two cab drivers had a fist fight. I snuck out of the cab and ran a block away to hail another cab. I made it home at 4am. All in subzero temps.

Something about last weekend and me… we don’t see to get along.

Please leave a reply!

