Block 563: December 28, 2014

IMG_7793

Sunday. I really don’t want to go back to work tomorrow.

Date: December 28, 2014

Crane: 563

Days Spent on Project: 678

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: My father has some weird “reading between the lines” ideas about the people I dedicate these Cranes to. Heads up… if I’m mention a guy’s name, that doesn’t mean I’ve dated them, fooled around with them, been interested in them, or whatever else adults may do. Sometimes these are just people I’ve worked with or have been friends with.

Sheesh.

Anyway, today’s Crane will be for Greg G. He was the lighting designer on that production for the Yale Dramat that I did a few years ago. Again, another designer from NYU, he was nice to meet and work with. In another case of the NYC theater world being so small, after two years of not seeing him or hearing about him, I was asked to assist on a new production of Hamlet last fall. Candice was designing it for a company she works with frequently, and she needed someone to help her keep everything moving along. I walked into the first production meeting before rehearsals were set to begin… and there was Greg. He was going to be designing the lights for it.

I think I knew then that my career as a designer had stalled.

Music I listened to while sewing: Would you believe that I’m still listening to the film soundtrack to Into The Woods.

I also have to say, for working in a regional theater, I’m kind of surprised no one else in the building is as excited about this movie as I am. This movie was made for “us.” Aren’t we, theater people, the target audience?

Where’s the love for Sondheim? Or Colleen Atwood? Or Meryl?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Again, I just want to reiterate, I am not thanking 1000 people that I’ve slept with or dated or fooled around with or made out with or what-have-you. That is not the point of this project.

Keep your minds out of the gutter.

 

 

Please leave a reply!

