Block 559: December 24, 2014

IMG_7779

Merry Christmas Eve, everyone.

Date: December 24, 2014

Crane: 559

Days Spent on Project: 674

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Muffie M.

I’m sitting in my costume shop at a sewing table, rather than my office, since only one person besides me needed to be present at work today. (It felt weird to isolate myself in the office with no real work to do.) From my view, I can see a poster of Grey Gardens, which played here in 2008.

Back in 2011, when I met and started working with Candice D., as her assistant for a string of shows, the last one was a short documentary that would eventually be spliced into a PBS mini-series on Science. Candice was asked to design a segment about Marie Curie, and the discovery of radiation! So, Candice sent me back up to Yale to pull from their authentic collection of turn of the century clothes, along with a few other costumes that might be a nicer quality.

We had four actors to dress- two men and two women- so fairly easy; only one person (Marie) had two looks to provide.

But the director of the piece– “The Mystery of Matter”– was Muffie. She and Candice had worked together on a few other projects. She was nice and fun to work with. Being on set was really great; yes, there was a lot of down time and the hours were long, but it was great to see the process and how everything would come together. My dog was even allowed to come on set… as long as I kept in the wardrobe area. Again, he entertained the actors and the crew for hours.

But, Muffie was one of the people behind the original documentary Grey Gardens. She helped get it made. How cool is that?

And, apparently, according to Candice, she has letters (lots of them) from Edie. I kept saying they needed to be published; can you imagine what kind of treasure trove that would be?

Anyway, this one will be for Muffie.

I met some really amazing people in New York.

Music I listened to while sewing: We’ve got Pandora on in the shop this morning. I can’t believe we’re at work.

“Let it Be” just came on though. That’s cool.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It’s the day before Christmas, and I think you all shouldn’t take for granted the parties and meals and celebrating and gift-giving you might be anticipating.

Yes, I could go out to a bar tonight and tomorrow to be around people, but being in public surrounded by people who have no real connection to you other than that moment in time isn’t the same.

So, give someone a hug today. And give a present and mean it. Yeah, I’m sure it’s all stressful and I’m sure you feel rushed and crazed with all the preparations and festivities and traditions and family-history going on. But don’t take it for granted, you know?

Peace out from Portland.

Please leave a reply!

