Block 558: December 23, 2014

IMG_7775

Tuesday, Bluesday.

All the days are seeming to run together right now.

Date: December 23, 2014

Crane: 558

Days Spent on Project: 673

Person I would have sent it to: I can only imagine, it a minimum of 442 days, when I’m wrapping this first portion of this project up, I’m going to have go to over my Crane List with a very fine toothed comb to see if I’ve duplicated any of these entries. For the record, after 500, it’s getting a bit more complicated to keep all the names accounted for in my head alone!

Today, let’s send this one off to another person I met through the internet, but this time I actually had the opportunity to meet her in person!

Katie S.

In yet another instance where the theater world proves itself to be incredibly small, Katie went to Depaul University in Chicago, with my friends Katie, Lindsay, Caitlin, Ora, and Mark. After college, she did some freelancing as a designer, but eventually realized that she could build things for other designers and make just as much money, for half the frustration. She went on to work for a regional theater or two, then took a huge leap when she decided to follow her goals and start selling custom made leather goods for people. I don’t know exactly when she started doing that exactly, but she started to do it… working out of the apartment she shares with her husband and selling her items through Etsy, and heading to local craft markets.

A year ago- it has been a year already- her business was growing so much that she was able to rent a studio/shop space outside of DC and get her work out of her home. She brought on someone to help her with her finances, found someone to apprentice with her for a bit, and even called me last January to shop different kinds of materials for some new projects she wanted to make.

Back in 2013, she was very supportive of me– through Twitter– when I had that really unfortunate string of three shows back to back and I really began this belief that I needed to give it up. She encouraged me– and I don’t know why I didn’t follow this advice– to get a survival job and take a break from theater and start dating and trying to pamper myself. She knew I wasn’t happy and that I was frustrated with it all, but I believe she had an idea that it was just the circumstances I was in at the time.

Last summer, in early June, after my time in Arkansas, when I was visiting my parents and before I had been offered this job (in fact, I was just contacted by this theater about interviewing for this job), I convinced my parents to drive to DC one weekend and go to one of these craft shows. The three of us made the trek on 95 (with our three dogs!), and that Sunday I did get to meet Katie for the first time. I told her that I was applying for something new- a job on the west coast, managing a costume shop; she was kind of floored. But she did say, it might be good for a year or two.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Madonna on again. I’ve found her new singles. FINALLY.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I guess the weird thing about opportunity is that it will knock, sure, but you have to be open to that possibility.

And I guess it’s not necessarily about waiting next to one door. It’s more like you’re in a hallway and you need to walk up and down it, listening at each one.

And I always thought you’d easily hear that knocking. Now I’m wondering if it could also be a quiet knock, something faint, and you have to be brave and trust that you heard it. And that you have to want it.

Opportunity isn’t necessarily an opportunity if you have no interest in it, right?

Please leave a reply!

