Block 553: December 18, 2014

IMG_7688

So incredibly behind today. It’s 7:30pm!

Date: December 18, 2014

Crane: 553

Days Spent on Project: 668

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Lillias W.

Lillias was one of the principal actors in the Broadway production of Fela!. Back in 2009, I was charged with meeting all the dancers before rehearsals began to take their pictures and get some measurements so we could get a sense of their body shapes and sizes. One of the male actors, making small talk to me as I took measurements, asked me how excited I was to be dressing Lillias.

I asked, out loud and in all seriousness, if she was someone I would have seen in something.

I didn’t know.

She was a joy to work with though; her personality matched her talent in scale- it was huge and wonderful. She had a nice presence, commanding but caring. She cared about the project and the role, even if it had scant stage time. But, with the time she did have on stage, she successfully stopped the show.

And she was fun. One night, she even had me and the Associate Costume Designer join her in her private dressing room to juice, of all things. I feel like she served us up some apple ginger concoction, all the while singing a song about the joys of juicing.

She gave me a white patterned handkerchief for opening, with sequins stitched on it, for opening. I still have it.

I, in turn, gave her  purple sequined Newsie cap that had been struck from the show. She alone in that building could pull it off.

Music I listened to while sewing: I am still all about the Beyonce right now.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I am so much happier- and tired- than I’ve been in months. I’m so glad and thankful to be designing again. I’m so thankful for this opportunity right now.

I do not want to give that dream up.

Please leave a reply!

