Block 550: December 15, 2014

IMG_7592

Big case of the Mondays over here. Is Mercury retrograding again?

Date: December 15, 2014

Crane: 550

Days Spent on Project: 665

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Gordon O.

Gordon was one of the producers and deans at the Opera school where I assisted Candice on La Vida Breve/El Amor Brujo.

I suppose I learned– or should have learned– that sometimes you just have to take what you can get and then spend what you need on a production. Jeez; that sounds passive aggressive. It isn’t meant to.

We had to dress fifty some students, I believe. And the budget was tight, but not terrible. I remember Candice always complaining that we needed more money to make it all work and look good. I took it upon myself to break the numbers down– the number of performers, the number of outfits, the number of costume pieces that went into those outfits, and then realistic prices for all those pieces. No matter how I broke it down, the design was going to be over budget.

I presented this document- in Excel and formatted like my anal-retentive self thought it best- to Gordon.

I don’t even think he knew who I was. He looked at the numbers, and put it aside.

It didn’t matter to him. We, in his opinion, had enough money.

Just another time when I should have learned that you can’t make someone realize- oh wow, that will cost more money. They’ll always throw the conversation back at you; use what you got because that’s all you’ll get.

Oh well.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m still on that Robyn and Royksopp kick.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: There is a lot of miscommunication going on these days. There is a lot of down time, which I think is exaggerating confusion.

There is a lot of tedium happening.

It’s quiet in the shop today. Two people are already planning on leaving at lunch time since there’s nothing to do. I think the other two people will probably head home soon after.

I think I’m just going to go home and go to bed. Big day tomorrow- first day of rehearsal for the show I’m designing. As excited as I want to be, I’m starting to realize there’s no reason to be. I don’t think anyone wants to hear my opinion on any of this. I don’t think anyone hear wants to listen.

I think they just want it done.

I need a break.

Please leave a reply!

