Block 539: December 4, 2014

IMG_7452

Slept in through both alarms. Dog refused to do his business this morning. Cold, steady rain. Late to work.

And now my MacBook Pro AND iPhone are on the fritz.

Yay.

Date: December 4, 2014

Crane: 539

Days Spent on Project: 654

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Tammie W.

When we started working on Priscilla in New York City, a lot of firsts happened for me. One of them was working on a production that would be finished out of the country, so I would have to deal with traveling (!) to a foreign country (Canada kinda counts) for a few weeks, learning a new city for a few weeks, dealing with new resources for a few weeks, and so on. So, it was the first time that I had to rely (as the Assistant Designer) on the Company Management team!

Tammie was the Assistant hired to work on the production, so she was part of a two person team that made sure we were all housed and fed and paid and healthy (as best as we wanted to be) for our time away from home. It was no small feat.

She did a great job, and I really wish I could have worked with her again, or on future projects. She’s still very active in New York, but also spends a fair amount of time touring with productions on the road. I find that really admirable; it’s so much work, “caring” for performers on the road. So much work.

Music I listened to while sewing: John Legend right now!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Ever get the sense that you can only go as far as the people above you will allow?

I have to remind myself that we’re all on a honeymoon period here. They’re figuring me out. I’m figuring them out. Things are changing on their end. Things are changing on my end.

How do we work together? How well do we work together?

When they say they want an advocate, do they really mean that?

When they say they want better work, where did the breakdown happen?

When they say they want it done more cost-efficiently, what if the problem isn’t on my end?

When they say they want a team, do they really want to play on a team, and with a team?

How far can you go if you get the sense that the problem is above you?

Please leave a reply!

