Block 532: November 27, 2014

IMG_7419

Happy Thanksgiving.

Date: November 27, 2014

Crane: 532

Days Spent on Project: 647

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Elizabeth G.

Elizabeth is another one of my good friends back in New York. She’s a costume designer, who seems to work all the time on the craziest projects in the most interesting of places. I actually think she’s somewhat brilliant; in addition to appearing overbooked with work, she’s managed to carve a job for herself at the Metropolitan Museum of Art as a docent for tours. When she was practicing for her “exam,” she gave me her tour, which highlighted a few of her favorite pieces in the museum.

She was also the last person I saw in New York on July 14th, the day before I moved to Portland. I was trying frantically to fit in all my “last chances” in a few days, and I had bought a ticket to see that evening’s performance of Sleep No More. I had a free half hour to grab some food after running last minute errands that seemed to take much longer than necessary. I had 30 minutes to meet up Elizabeth in the garment district, but I got a text saying that she was running late and might not make it over to that side of town.

I waited as long as I could in the Pret A Manger on 29th and 7th Avenue, until I needed to wandered a familiar walk over to the McKittrick on west 27th Street. It was drizzling slightly on that overcast July day, so I didn’t expect Elizabeth to make the effort and walk all those avenues across town.

But she did. She walked there and met me and waited with me in line until I was let in the building.

That meant a lot to me. With the exception of a cab driver that night and the following morning, and the ticket people at the airport, Elizabeth was the last person I had a conversation with in that city.

It meant a lot to me.

Music I listened to while sewing: Kesha again… she’s been on all morning, and I’ve been thinking about her career in pop music. Is it over? She seemed to appear out of nowhere in 2010, releasing a few albums through 2012, and then fading away. Has she gone away for good? Has pop music finished itself of her?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m trying, maybe unsuccessfully, to evaporate away this weekend. I’m going into work tomorrow to do as much online shopping as I can for work. I’ll do paperwork for the upcoming shows. I’ll color in more of my sketches, as I really just need to finish them and be done with them. It’ll be good to be able to sit and work undisturbed.

And avoid things.

I’ll get to the gym as often as I can this weekend. I’ll read a bunch. I’ll make it through to Monday, I will, and I’ll keep working to move forward here.

Just gotta keep busy here.

Please leave a reply!

