Block 517: November 12, 2014

IMG_7296

So, apparently winter descended onto Portland yesterday. IT IS SO COLD RIGHT NOW.

My work room doesn’t retain heat (at all), so I sped through today’s crane. My fingers were numb.

Must fix this.

Date: November 12, 2014

Crane: 517

Days Spent on Project: 632

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Where am I now in this project? Jeez, I’m having to really think about people and places and years now…

To be honest, I’m having a hard time thinking about who or what or when is next. I’ve gone through Fela! and it’s few incarnations. I went through Come Fly Away as it danced onto Broadway. That should take me back to Spring of 2010. What was I doing in the Spring and Summer of 2010, other than playing with my dog?

Let’s take a step back and go to the Spring of 2009. I had just been dumped by the boy. I was coming out of a slower period of work in that winter. But, I had managed to land a design job up at Yale, with their undergraduate theater group. (Theater GROUP… they don’t have an undergraduate theater program, mind you.)

I had originally interviewed with the STUDENT producer to design costumes for the show, but wasn’t called back. Imagine my surprise when I was called two months later (on my birthday, two weeks post-dumping), and offered the job. It turned out the original designer (a friend of mine) had walked away from the show, right when rehearsals started.

I’ve already thanked that designer amongst these Cranes, so today let’s thank the director of that show for bringing me on board and giving me some work: Benjamin M.

In the end, it was a great learning experience. It was a sobering project, where the promises were high at the front end of the rehearsal period, when assistants *and* assistance were said to be available, but then never showed up. When money was supposedly there, but needed to cover more areas than they had let on. When the team assembled were really just undergraduates “putting on a show.” It was not my best work, or my best hour.

Benjamin and I had actually overlapped at Yale for one year; he was finishing up his third year when I started my first. We never worked together then, and I can’t imagine we’ll work together now either. I think he and I had a lot of growing up left to do, maybe? I honestly don’t know where he is in life or in the world right now. He’s not someone that I saw in New York at Yale parties or events. I wonder where he has ended up actually.

That’s what I’ll say about that. It’s cryptic, but that’s what I’ll say.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m listening to the hot water boil in the kitchen right now. It’s a HOT beverage all day kinda day today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, with rehearsals happening upstairs for one of our Christmas productions, the theater is back in a sort of full swing. They have a week to rehearse this show, and three days to tech it, so the entire process is quick quick quick. We rehearse our other Christmas production next week, for THREE DAYS with a two day tech process. Nothing like cramming as much as possible in! I suppose it’s the joy of working on a “remount.”

Anyway, well, hm.

I totally understand now how there isn’t time to do everything you want to do and feel like you need to do in a 24 hour period. Getting to work at 8am, leaving at 6pm, walking the dog before and after, picking up some food… The day’s spent and done at that point, and I still always have this nagging desire to get to the gym more often and to work on these cranes more and finish painting some sketches and work on some writing. With the brief two year period spent in Louisville, I’ve always ever worked freelance, which meant my hours and schedule were up to me.

Now, with this full-time gig, all of that needs to be rethought and re-juggled.

Hm.

How do people make it all work?

2 thoughts on “Block 517: November 12, 2014

  1. Out of sheer curiosity, are you using fabrics that you brought from NY and other places, or are these new ones purchased in Portland? They are quite different, don’t you think?

Please leave a reply!

