Block 516: November 11, 2014

IMG_7292

Today, we officially start our countdown until our Christmas productions open. Eleven days and the holidays are officially here in Portland.

Can you believe how fast 2014 has flown by? Can you believe how much has changed this year?

Date: November 11, 2014

Crane: 516

Days Spent on Project: 631

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: I would send this to Richard R. He was another one of Alison’s friends, who “took me in” as I tried to fumble back towards having a social life after the big break-up of 2009.

I always envied that Alison was able to make and keep friends from her college undergraduate years. Mine, after Kenyon, dispersed to the winds- some when to Massachusetts, others to DC, then Chicago, then Atlanta, then New York, and so on and so forth. Kenyon was great in giving us the confidence to go where we needed and felt to go, but at the same time I don’t think many of us went anywhere as a group. And I’m a little sad about that. I’d especially like having some contacts here.

But, maybe that was all my experience at Kenyon; I didn’t feel strongly tethered to Ohio or the Midwest and, wanting to pursue theater design, I was just bound to float around to where the work was… social life be damned.

I’d like to focus on my social life now.

Music I listened to while sewing: We have Pandora on in the shop this morning. I can’t make out what the station is, but there’s lots of screaming.

Maybe I’ll turn on some Sondheim soon.

Or Bing Crosby! Why not?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Well, we start out third and fourth shows of the season in the next week. After this month and a half lull in the workload, we’re about to careen through another 9 shows in the remaining 6.5 months of the season. Yikes.

Also, my friend Chris in New York texted me this morning. One year ago today, I took him to see Sleep No More for free- using the two comp tickets I earned for working their Halloween parties. (Those parties remain an epic memory.) We met in the Starbucks across the street from FIT on seventh avenue; he was already a little grumpy, needing to use the restroom and wanting some caffeine. I was incredibly frustrated by a job I was doing at Rutgers; I had just realized they weren’t going to pay for my materials to design a dance concert, and anything was going to have to come from my paycheck. Needless to say, we weren’t in the best moods before hand, but we left the theater ecstatic.

I converted Chris. I don’t think he’s seen SNM since, but he did enjoy it.

So, I’m a little homesick for that experience and also relieved and amazed that so much has changed in the past year. It’s been a busy year- there’s no denying that- and my life is completely different.

It’s strange to think of milestones like a year, and how fluid life can be within a period like that.

Please leave a reply!

