Block 510: November 5, 2014

IMG_7270

Not feeling too good this morning. Ugh. It could be that I’m drinking SO MUCH COFFEE here with my amazing French Press that I bought for work.

Caffeine!

Date: November 5, 2014

Crane: 510

Days Spent on Project: 625

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Back in the summer of 2009, when I was ramping up for the joyride that was the Broadway production of Fela!, I was still broken a part by the boyfriend who had dumped me (rightly) after 14 months. It didn’t help matters that he and briefly reconnected a few times in that summer, which led me to hope things might turn around. But they didn’t.

So, in the interest of trying to distract myself and put myself back together, I spent a lot of time hanging out with my friend Alison C. and making friends with HER friends.

The first of which, will be Evie G.

When I met Evie in the summer of 2009, she was living on the Upper East side (later that year, I’d be moving about 20 blocks south of her randomly), and she gave off the appearance that she was loving life. I went to a fair number of parties with her, had a lot of fun at those parties (and sometimes too much fun), went to the Bronx Botanical gardens with her, and so on.

I liked Evie and wanted to gravitate towards her because she was so full of life.

And for someone who was experiencing such a devoid sensation inside (I told people that I felt like there was a drain in me, allowing everything to slowly drip out, or even that my breathing felt like it was going into an empty cavern), I needed that energy back in my life. I’m glad to know there are people in the world who have so much Life in them that it seeps out onto others.

Evie, maybe this was in 2011?, was accepted into a grad school program in Indiana. She left for that program and now lives in Chicago. I don’t think I’ve seen her since 2010 or 2011, but her experiences seem fairly great. She’s surrounded herself with a lot of good friends. And Chicago’s theater scene is awesome, so she’s in a good place.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve been listening to Katy Perry’s Unconditionally on repeat all day today. I have no idea why, but it’s what I needed.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I’m again spending all of my time worrying about numbers and balancing budgets.

I joked yesterday with the Artistic Director (who asked if I’d found a boyfriend/partner yet to anchor me to Portland) that I was holding out for someone rich. His eyes lit up when I said I needed to find someone willing to donate a million dollars to the theater.

He asked if I was serious. I think he was hoping.

Please leave a reply!

