Block 501: October 27, 2014

IMG_7216

Um, guys, it’s all downhill from here.

Date: October 27, 2014

Crane: 501

Days Spent on Project: 616

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Rick S.

Rick was the Production Stage Manager for Come Fly Away, which meant he was given the task of making sure all the different cats involved in the show were herded successfully from the first day of rehearsal through the closing performance of CFA in September. Stage Management is such a beast of a job; when you meet really good ones, they make the process seem smooth and direct.

I will always remember- another lesson learned here- being really proud of the work we had done on Fela! just a few months before and that it was gaining buzz to win the Tony for Best Choreography; I stupidly mentioned that it was almost fairly certain to win and how awesome that would be. It never even crossed my mind NOT to say something like that… I mean, I wasn’t working on another musical spearheaded by a dance legend or anything.

Rick set me straight.

I’ll always remember that.

Rick would later go on to work on Warhorse at Lincoln Center when that gorgeous show came into town. I would later work with his partner Thom a few years later on Newsies.

Music I listened to while sewing: Nothing today… except the sounds of a very slow Costume Shop outside my office.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: So I went on a date yesterday. It was my first since moving to Portland.

I spent the rest of my evening wondering why I didn’t pursue a few of the guys I was interested in when I was living in New York. In hindsight, through my rose colored glasses, there were more than a few that just seem so obvious now.

I’m forgetting that I was not in a place to date people in New York. I was freelance. I didn’t have discretionary income. I was a “theater artist,” which seems like a red flag to most people. I’m not sure I was able to be a catch back in New York. I don’t think I would have been a good boyfriend. I don’t think I was mentally able or ready or emotionally well to do something like that.

Grass is always greener, I guess.

And, on a side note, dreamt heavily about immersive theater, specifically The California Project from last Spring. I have to figure out a way to pursue that here… because I can’t stop thinking about the possibilities.

 

Please leave a reply!

