Block 498: October 24, 2014

IMG_7197

TGIF. The Dog made it into work today, and the shop is happy.

Date: October 24, 2014

Crane: 498

Days Spent on Project: 613

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Alicia R.

The third shoe company that we worked with for the Broadway production of Come Fly Away was located on West 47th in Hell’s Kitchen, just west of Times Square.

When I was first introduced to Alicia, I was with Katherine the Designer, and we were having a brief meeting talking about what the show wanted, what was possible, what materials they had, and so on. I would probably be at that shoe company every day that winter.

And, that time, I really did enjoy working with Alicia and her attitude about the shoes and the process. I did.

Later on, though, on a different show that was bearing down towards Broadway, I had a different experience. We weren’t, for a variety of reasons, going to be using that shoe company on that production. However, Alicia was good friends with the production team, so we were around each other, although infrequently.

Some of those times- well ONE time- we went out for drinks in my neighborhood. It proved to be a valuable lesson for me, as that was the period I learned that going drinking with people you work with- or potentially work with- is rife with all sorts of problems. One time, in a particularly generic Irish Pub on the Upper East Side, with my then drink of choice (Vodka Soda), Alicia told me that I didn’t have it in me to be a leader or the head designer of a show that was Broadway bound.

I was kinda floored.

Never mind that, at the time, it was only my third Broadway show. Never mind that I had only been in New York for four years. Never mind that I was only 31 at the time, and OLDER than her. Never mind that we had been getting along up until then. Never mind a lot of stuff.

I think, at that moment, she saw that she had said something wrong. I paid for my two drinks and walked out of the bar.

Jane Greenwood, one of the greats, has said “there’s no loyalty in this business.”

What a way to learn it. And I have learned it, repeatedly.

To this day, I don’t give them any of my business.

Music I listened to while sewing: Back on a Sondheim kick… today is Sunday in the Park with George.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I am so excited for the weekend. I have so many things I want to do and work on.

Never mind getting to know Portland, I have side projects to get back on track!

On a side note, I know people are convinced that I’m a little overly obsessed with Sleep No More at times. But I have to say, a lot of good has come out of that show. I met (online through the Tumblr version of this blog) someone in Portland who’s equally obsessed with it. And we’ve made an (online) connection. So, at least there’s someone to talk to in Portland. She’s going to the Halloween Party next week. I’m really jealous.

Baby steps towards socialization, it seems.

Please leave a reply!

