Block 497: October 23, 2014

IMG_7194

Rain for the second day in a row. The Dog, of course, refused to go to work AGAIN today.

The shop is actually upset with me.

(“Why don’t you just carry him to work? We miss him!”)

Date: October 23, 2014

Crane: 497

Days Spent on Project: 612

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Doorman Ray.

At the Stage Door at the Marquis, during the production (and run) of Come Fly Away, sat Ray the Doorman.

He was stationed during the beginning of our time in that building behind the door near a heater, since it was a particularly wet and cold winter that season. But, despite the weather, he was always smiling and wanting to talk. He’d see me coming down 46th Street and run to get the door for me, as I was almost always carrying a dozen pair of dance shoes for the dancers.

He was always nice. That was always nice. And he knew my name. That was even nicer.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got Into The Woods on today. After seeing some of the costume pictures that were posted online, I cannot wait to see the movie… only for Colleen Atwood’s designs.

The musical’s good, so my hopes are so high.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Another rainy day here in Portland.

You know, thinking back on the scope of these past 600 and some days, I’m struck by how much has changed in my life and how I couldn’t have foreseen any of these when I started this project. Yes, I did think I’d be traveling throughout the project and would be posting updates in various cities around the country (that’s why I always want to list where I’m posting and sewing), but I never thought that I’d be settled in a different city than New York… let alone with west coast… let along Oregon.

Anyway, here’s to change and journeying and moving on and holding on and making do and making it all work.

And staying dry. I’m gonna be buying lots of flannel, wool socks, boots, and rainproof jackets with hoods very soon.

And a rain jacket for The Dog; he’s really unhappy this week.

Cheers.

Please leave a reply!

