Block 496: October 22, 2014

IMG_7188

Rain in Portland today. Go figure.

Date: October 22, 2014

Crane: 496

Days Spent on Project: 611

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Oh, continuing on with my adventures in Shoe-insanity for Come Fly Away.

One of the genius, or maddening things, that we allowed to happen with Come Fly Away and the shoes we needed to have made for the show was that we allowed the dancers to choose one of three shoe companies (all based in New York City) that would make their custom dance shoes.

To much freedom. I should have insisted, “No, I like working with these people. I have a relationship with them. They will deliver the goods.” Because, really, in a wet and snowy January and February and March, do you want to be traipsing all across Manhattan for shoe fittings that last 10 minutes each every day all the time? But, I didn’t have good relationships with shoe people at the time. I couldn’t have offered much expertise at the time.

But, it was kind of genius, too. The dancers could go to whom they felt comfortable. Which made their process easier. It also made it easier on us when they inevitably had issues with their footwear. (“But you asked for that?” Is a heartfelt response, but something you should never say…)

Anyway, Shoe Company number 2 for Come Fly Away: Gino and the guys at TO Dey in Midtown.

I enjoyed working with them. Not only did they understand (and tell me that they understoof repeatedly) what dancers needed and wanted, they made sure to fit the shoes before finishing everything so all those pesky “fit issues” could be addressed. And, wow, could they turn shoes around quickly. Yes, I understand that it’s not a quick process, but when something needed to happen, they could make it happen.

I ended up bringing business back to them for Newsies on Broadway. And, again, they did great work!

If the shoe fits… (ha ha)

Music I listened to while sewing: Today, I’m listening to the Original Broadway Cast Recording of Thoroughly Modern Millie. I wanted to listen to some sort of theater today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I need about 2 or three additional hours in the day. Between work (from 8 to 6) and walking the dog, I’m finding it hard to balance working on this project, getting to the gym, drawing designs for other shows, and working on That California Project from last Spring. I’d also like to figure out a way to spend some time OUT for a change, too.

That’s a tedious thought.

Anyway, I’m also finding it interesting now that I’m not in New York, several people in New York are expressing interest in me. What’s that about?

Please leave a reply!

