Block 492: October 18, 2014

IMG_7167

TGIF? Nah… thank goodness it’s Saturday. I have a laundry list of things to do!

Date: October 18, 2014

Crane: 492

Days Spent on Project: 607

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have given it to: I should dedicate this one to Kashaun. She also worked- and still does work- in Eric’s Costume Shop in New York.

If Jen managed the front desk, and helped keep the work and materials flowing in the shop, Kashaun was in charge of the finances and how the money flowed in and out. Shall I call her the Business Manager?

At the time, whenever I would shop for them, I was a little overwhelmed by the protocol that was set in place for purchasing materials and logging in work hours. But, now, as I’m wading into a career of costume shop managing in Portland, I know understand how brilliant and necessary it was to document everything that they did and how they did it.

I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that I’m trying to establish some of the same paper trails Kashaun set in place back at Eric’s.

Her office was always in back, separate from all the madness that was going on in the front of the studio. I can’t imagine how she alone managed to keep everything financial straight and accounted for. She was kinda brilliant. Or, at the very least, she knew how to set a system up and keep in running.

And always look collected while doing it.

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify again, “Lounge- Soft House” playing today.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Yesterday, I held a happy hour in the Costume Shop at 4, in the hour and a half before people would start leaving for the weekend. Even though it was just myself, the three ladies in the costume shop, my craftsperson, and the wardrobe supervisor (who only stopped by for about 15 minutes as she had to prep a show), I think it was a success.

We even invented a drink, and named it “The Bulldog” after The Dog. It was pretty good, but next time I want to use a darker liquor and a darker mixer as The Dog is a brindle color. (Something fun to work on, I guess: creating an alcoholic beverage for work!)

I really see no reason why the shop can’t run more efficiently and also more positively. I’m trying to organize everything so that the ladies there can just do the jobs that they were hired to do, and not catch drop responsibilities from other people; so far, I think it’s working.

I also don’t see why we can’t open up the communication and camaraderie in the shop, as well. If we all have to share a space and work together in good times and bad, why not at least make conversation possible and welcome? Sure, we don’t have to be best friends, but we at least have to have a team.

I’m learning so much. I still don’t know if any of my “improvements” have made improvements, yet, but it’s still early in the season. They’ve only been back on staff for two months, and we’ve only opened two shows. There’s still time to figure out how to make everything better.

And, regardless of what people think, I do think things can get better. In a lot of ways.

So, here’s to Saturday and my laundry list of things to do to get prepped for the next week: I have some drawing to do for a January show, laundry, gym-time to spend, errands to run, and so on. Having a full time job is certainly different than freelancing. Your weekend time becomes really valuable!

Cheers.

One thought on “Block 492: October 18, 2014

Please leave a reply!

