Block 490: October 16, 2014

IMG_7161

The sun came out again today. The Dog thought the weather was good enough to go to work!

Date: October 16, 2014

Crane: 490

Days Spent on Project: 605

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: One of the shops that we worked out of, and had clothes built in, was Eric W’s Studio on 22nd Street.

When I first met him, it was probably 2007 or 2008, when I was hired to replace one of their shoppers for a few days while they did some other work. I would occasionally get called in to swatch and buy materials for his shop over a few years but, with 2010 and Come Fly Away, this was the first time that I saw them build something for a show I was working on.

In the following four years, I would work for designers who wanted clothes built there infrequently. But, I was always excited to know he would be working on something. The shop itself was enormous, an entire floor, and there were multiple teams of drapers and first hands and stitchers and even a tailoring team and a group of women who just did hand-finishing and someone who did crafts and dyed fabrics… It was another one of those “full-service” shops, and the work was always exquisite.

That’s the thing about New York; a lot of crazy talented, high quality, demanding, tasteful, etc. people work there.

It’s been especially interesting to think about those shops that I used to visit and work in back in New York, now that I’m 3000 miles away in Portland and experiencing a new shop dynamic.

I always knew that a garment would be well-made if it was coming out of Eric’s shop. I thought it was always a guarantee.

I really am thankful to have seen- and worked out of- operations like that in the eight years I was in New York.

So, for Eric and his work.

Music I listened to while sewing: One of my neighbors is listening to something. I have no idea what it is, but it’s wafting in through the windows now. Otherwise, it’s quiet here.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I don’t know what it is, but my motivation is really lacking right now. I don’t seem to be getting much done during the day.

I need and want something to look forward to… I feel like I’ve got nothing on the horizon to look for, and that’s getting a little unnerving.

Please leave a reply!

