Block 489: October 15, 2014

IMG_7157

The weather is chilly and wet and grey right now in Portland. I’m told that was the last I’ll see of the sun for the next 7 months. Wow.

Date: October 15, 2014

Crane: 489

Days Spent on Project: 604

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Caitlin H.

Caitlin was another assistant that was brought on to work on the production of Come Fly Away, that was set to open on Broadway in the winter of 2010. She had worked on a “pre-Broadway” tryout of the show in Atlanta the previous year. She was our connection to the old clothes, what they were, what they should have been, and a lot of other pesky details.

Within minutes of working with her on our first day, I learned that she had gone to DePaul in Chicago with many of the friends I had made over the summers working at the National High School Institute… so I knew she was cool right from the start.

She would be in charge of buying all the fabric, accessories, and store bought clothes for the show. Which was a ton of work, considering most everything in the show was built custom for the dancers.

She and I would, over the next few years, run into each other every once and a while in the Garment District. There was even a period of time that we would go out drinking and carousing together. (She even accompanied me to Sleep No More for my second time- on my birthday!) She would eventually get a full-time job with the Metropolitan Opera in their costume shop, as someone who shopped for their supplies. Later on, she would be offered an even better job at Tricorne, as their Front Desk Manager. I thought that was a huge promotion and opportunity.

I would hope to work at or with a place like Tricorne again. Maybe it’s not in the cards for a while.

Caitlin was always really fun and great.

Music I listened to while sewing: We have Pandora on today in the shop. I’ve only recognized one song… “Falling Slowly” from the movie Once.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I don’t think I’ll be able to keep my drawing desk and sewing stuff out on my balcony anymore. It’s getting so cold and dark and wet that I don’t want to spend long periods of time out there.

That’s a shame, as it would be so cool to be able to work in a sun room.

Maybe I’ll get curtains. And a space heater.

One thought on “Block 489: October 15, 2014

Please leave a reply!

