Block 486: October 12, 2014

IMG_7150

Need to do about three more hours of drawing for work. My Portland design debut might be happening sooner than anyone thought.

Date: October 12, 2014

Crane: 486

Days Spent on Project: 601

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: So, if you went around the south (down) corner of my apartment with my dog, he would most probably be leading you to the parking garage where his parking attendant buddies worked and welcomed him at all hours of the day. If you turned north (up) from my apartment’s front door with my dog, he was probably taking you to his favorite spot in all of Manhattan.

On the southeast corner of 81st and 2nd Avenue was the Hungarian Meat Market.

A staple of the neighborhood (why?), it had been there for a very long time. I don’t remember when exactly my dog decided that he could walk in and greet everyone who worked there, but he soon made it a part of our daily rounds.

So, not only was my dog getting daily walks in Central Park and all-access to a parking garage, he also had an open invitation to a free deli meats whenever he wanted.

Over the few years that we went in, he befriended the wife of the owner and her daughter. The two of them would call for my dog to come in after work, whenever they saw the two of us coming. For a while, there was a younger man who also worked there, who always wanted to play with my dog as well. They had never seen a French Bulldog before. My dog had never tasted Hungarian-cured meats. Everyone seemed to win.

One Christmas, they bought my dog some bones to chew on. I, in return, bought them a porcelain statue of a Frenchie to keep in the store.

Our time as visitors didn’t last very long. One evening in the summer of 2011, when I was coming home from seeing a Broadway show, I saw the lights of fire trucks at the corner. There had been a fire in the building, which had gutted the lower floors and the deli. They never re-opened the business.

As sad as I was to see the store and parts of the apartments above damaged so badly, I was relieved: my apartment was just three buildings down the block. Thankful that the fire hadn’t spread, I was happy to know that my dog had been okay inside.

I don’t know what ever happened to the owners of that deli. There had been a sign that they would try to re-open in the future, but that ever happened.

On a side note, back in July, when I was looking for my residential leasing history, I googled my old apartment building on Second Avenue. I learned that the entire block had been bought out by one developer, with plans to tear down ALL those smaller, older apartment buildings and put a luxury condo building in its place.

Eff you, New York. Progress.

Anyway, to the owner’s wife and her daughter, for all the deli meat that my dog enjoyed. Thanks.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve decided that a playlist on Spotify called “Electropositivity” will be my go-to music for the moment.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Didn’t stay busy enough yesterday. But wasn’t so un-busy that I had too much time to dwell on things I miss.

Gotta stay busier today.

Still waiting for Portland to open up a bit more… still looking for things I want to open.

Please leave a reply!

