Block 483: October 9, 2014

IMG_7139

Thursday, today. Pay Day, too.

Date: October 9, 2014

Crane: 483

Days Spent on Project: 598

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Let’s see… if I’m up to my time with Fela! in New York, that means I also moved out of the first period of my time there. In 2009, I also moved to the Upper East Side, and would live in a crazy-tiny one bedroom apartment for the next three years.

Despite how incredibly small that place was, it was an awesome place to be. I was on Second Avenue- right where all the subway construction would end up being- on 80th Street, which was mere minutes away from Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Guggenheim and MOMA and so many quintessentially New York places.

I often joked to people that, by living there, I was doing my best to bring down the median income level.

I think about that neighborhood all the time. Yes, I know living on the UES is considered “boring” by a lot of people my age. It’s not “trendy” like a lot of other neighborhoods, but I did like it there. For the most part. (My downstairs neighbor was crazy- and not in a fun way- and a lot of the young professionals in that neighborhood did like to drink a lot and wander around Second Avenue at night… I miss that energy here in Portland.

Today, I’ll dedicate a Crane to Holly T. She lived around the corner from me, and had been in the same apartment for several years- if not a decade or two. She and I met because we walked our dogs at similar times of the day. Hers- named Macaroon- was a wirey-haired something that always appeared content with life.

Holly loved talking. She and I would sometimes walk together, and I would occasionally never have to say anything as our dogs walked alongside each other.

I don’t really know what Holly did. She did tell stories of working in advertising in the 60s and having some crazy tales from those years.

She always had doggy treats for my dog. My dog liked her.

Music I listened to while sewing: No music. I’m sitting in the costume shop right now. It’s SILENT.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Homesickness is a weird thing, isn’t it?

I know I only lived in New York for 8 years. I was not born and raised in New York. But I’m growing increasingly aware how much that New York energy became my idea of normal.

Things seem so slow and quiet here.

Yes, I know that life was not great there. It was hard. I was mind-numbingly poor (and still am!). I was- in all honesty- being squeezed out of life in New York.

But it did feel like home.

And Portland doesn’t feel like that yet.

Time… give it time…

Please leave a reply!

