Block 480: October 6, 2014

IMG_7121

Having an 8am – 6pm  theater job is different.

Date: October 6, 2014

Crane: 480

Days Spent on Project: 595

Location: NW Portland, OR

Person I would have sent it to: Shaneeka H.

Shaneeka was another one of the performers in the Broadway cast of Fela!, back in 2009.

She was not cast in the off-Broadway production the summer before, so I didn’t make her acquaintance until the summer of 2009, when rehearsals started.

I will always remember her as someone who would look at me, with what seemed like a knowing wink, and smile at me. She seemed to be someone who understood my job, knew that I was in the room with everyone else, and saw that I was a part of the team.

One morning, it must have been late June or early July, I was getting my morning coffee at the Starbucks on the north side of 42nd Street, a few doors down from the entrance to the 42nd Street Studios and the Duke rehearsal space. I was a few people ahead of her, getting my usual for the time (“a Grande coffee”), and she nodded her head at me as I wiggled my way through to the counter to add Whole Milk and one Raw Sugar.

She mentioned my outfit, and the grey leather belt I sported daily that summer. It was nothing big, but the observation felt earned.

I always enjoy it when people take the time, even if it is a moment, and let you know that they acknowledge your presence.

If I had known I was going to dedicate this Crane to her, I would have made it a bolder pattern.

Music I listened to while sewing: Spotify again. It’s music fit for the background, meaning I can’t tell you anything specific about it.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I would like a home. I would like an anchor. I would like security.

I would like time. I would like independence.

I would like confidence. I would self-esteem.

I would like presence. I would like acknowledgement.

I would like humility. I would like ego.

I would like dependence.

I would like attraction.

I would like a rug. I would like a table. I would like a lamp.

I would like not to spend any money right now.

I would like a plateau.

I would like a mountain, as opposed to a boulder.

I would like a need.

I would like desire.

I would like a nap.

I would like to un-do a lot.

I would like to do more.

I would like a visit.

I would like to go.

Please leave a reply!

