Block 479: October 5, 2014

IMG_7110

Sunday!

Date: October 5, 2014

Crane: 479

Days Spent on Project: 594

Location: NW Portland, OR.

Person I would have sent it to: Abena K.
Abena was one of the many talented performers involved in Fela!, the musical, in its initial off-Broadway production and then later the Broadway production. Back in 2008, she was cast to play Fela’s mother, Funmilayo. When the show would transfer a year later, she was asked to understudy another actress who was cast to play Funmilayo- Lillias White. (How could you argue with that?) Abena was still used on stage, as back-up vocals, during the show.

Always incredibly nice and pleasant and a welcome attitude about the entire process, she was a pleasure to talk to and work with. She’s also become incredibly supportive of this project, as she’s seen me toil away at it.

I always thought Abena could wear any color or pattern well; she always had the confidence to pull off whatever she wanted.

Music I listened to while sewing: I got my wireless network up and running! Yay for the Internet!

This means, awesomely, that I have Spotify on in the background. It’s my “Dancefloor” playlist, unsurprisingly; in the months that I haven’t listened to it, so much of it is NEW!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: I have to tell myself that there is a lot of opportunity here in Portland, but it will take time to crack open that opportunity. I just have to be patient.

Spent yesterday at the gym, drawing at my desk, sorting through the new apartment, walking the dog, and went out to see a musical at a different theater company. I even managed to get a bar and reconnect with a good friend from grad school. It’s nice to have at least one person from my old world/life here, who’s been here for about four years, and understands the transition and the expectation and the hopes.

I have to remind myself that there is opportunity here, but it won’t scream its presence aggressively at you like it would have to in New York. It might take some more work to find it, and certainly time, but it might be able to find it.

It will also take me time to get furniture for this apartment.

That’ll be a process, too.

Please leave a reply!

