Block 473: June 23, 2014

IMG_6654

Change can be scary.

Date: June 23, 2014

Crane: 473

Days Spent on Project: 490

Location: Richmond, VA

Person I would have sent it to: Katherine M.

Again, one more Crane for the people I interacted the most with at Tricorne, in the few times I worked with them on costumes.

Katherine founded Tricorne and, along with the people she’s hired and brought into the shop, have given it a really great reputation for doing great work and also realizing a designer’s dreams throughout the process.

I was always told you were lucky to have Katherine drape one of your designs.

Music I listened to while sewing: I have that Spotify-approved playlist called “Dancefloor” on this morning. I’m trying to find some new music for my morning runs.

This would, of course, mean I’d have to buy the music and load it onto my ancient iPod, which probably won’t happen, but I’m trying.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It’s starting to dawn on me that, if I leave New York, I have to go somewhere and find something else to do.

And the feelings I’m experiencing because of that are equally terrifying and exciting. What would I do? Where would I go? How would I get there? How would I get around? I’d be unaware of the city’s good areas or bad areas or where the amenities were located. I wouldn’t necessarily know anyone there, besides The Dog. How would I meet people? The City would be an unknown, and that’s fairly un-nerving.

However, I would also be an unknown. That’s an opportunity, which is a little exciting.

I think I just want some stability in my life; I’m very aware that potentially uprooting my life and getting rid of as much physical baggage as possible to head to an unknown location doesn’t exactly seem like the most comfortable thing to choose, but I think it’s so drastic that it will ultimately get me to a place of stability.

I feel it’s going to be best to start over. Make a break. Get out. Move on. Disappear from one area and reappear somewhere else.

It’ll be scary and I’m sure I’ll have at least one adult temper-tantrum along the way, but I think it’s the right choice.

Fingers crossed.

One thought on “Block 473: June 23, 2014

Please leave a reply!

