Block 471: June 21, 2014

IMG_6650

 

The Dog is back after surgery yesterday. Today, I play nurse.

Date: June 21, 2014

Crane: 471

Days Spent on Project: 488

Location: Richmond, VA

Person I would have sent it to: Tricorne Costume Shop.

Today, I would send this Crane to the people who work at Tricorne, one of the bigger costume shops in New York. They agreed to help us out with the act 1 costumes worn by the Fela! women’s ensemble.

I feel a bit like a cheat actually, thanking an entire shop when I should be thanking people individually, but I feel like there are so many people working on every step of a costume’s creation that it’s perhaps better to thank them all collectively. Tricorne is a big operation, and so many people touch a costume as it goes from sketch to a discussion to a pattern to a mock-up to a fitting and then to a final product. Perhaps it’s best to thank Tricorne as a unit, simply because they’re so “full-service” and can make a lot of sartorial and costume dreams come to.

It was great to have the opportunity to work with them, for the first time, on Fela!. They took a lot of information in, with the designer, the feel of the show, and the performer’s needs, and they realized them pretty fantastically. They contributed their ability and knowledge and skill every step of the way, and they did so without seeming self-important or over-it. They never got frustrated. They never took it out on someone.

The more I work with shops and drapers and stitchers and so on, it’s so exciting to work with people who have – and bring – a sense of pride to their work. They give off the impression that they care about the work; it’s not about making something just to be pretty or making the designer look good. Good shops also understand that the work reflects back on them. (Sorry if that statement seems pointed. It wasn’t meant to be.)

I worked with Tricorne throughout the life of Fela!, and other performers came along, and things were rebuilt, and then again on Priscilla Queen of the Desert. I have tried to get back in their shop on other shows, but it hasn’t yet proved financially possible. I hope someday to…

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m following Spotify’s suggestion this morning, and I’m enjoying the music it suggested. It’s a group called MS MR. I don’t know much about them, but they’re pretty fun.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: My fingers may be crossed. My expectations might be managed. My thoughts may be cautiously optimistic.

But, I’m still hoping for some good news.

 

Please leave a reply!

