Block 470: June 20, 2014

IMG_6648

What does it mean to give up?

Date: June 20, 2014

Crane: 470

Days Spent on Project: 487

Location: Richmond, VA

Person I would have sent it to: I will dedicate this Crane to Jennifer L.

Jennifer owns a costume shop in New York City. I first worked with her back in 2009, when we needed a set of Act 2 costumes built for all the actresses in the Broadway production of Fela! She helped us figure out ways of putting a lot of disparate pieces together, that would hopefully survive the very athletic dancing and movement in that show.

I’ll always remember her offering us a sequined placemat that she had bought on sale from a store; the color and shape and sparkle were kind of perfect for an outfit, and she helped us make a mini-skirt out of it.

It was probably one of the more memorable fittings I’ve had in New York.

Since then, I’ve tried to work with her whenever I can. She built most of the Newsies clothes for Newsies, out in Papermill and then again as that show made its way to Broadway. She would also help on a small workshop I assisted an out-of-town designer on back in 2012. I like her work, and I enjoy her.

Music I listened to while sewing: A song called “Happiness,” by Jonsi and Alex. It’s been on repeat for a while already.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: The Dog is having that surgical procedure this morning. We’re finally getting that little lump removed. I’m hoping this will be okay.

He was a little upset at the vet when I dropped him off.

Anyway.

I’m left wondering if I’ve put all my eggs in one basket again; here I am, a week into a stay in Richmond with my parents, and I have yet to make up my mind about returning back to New York. I have to head back before the first. I just have to so for a variety of boring, real-life reasons. I have a feeling that, within a week’s time, I’ll have some concrete answers about what’s going on in my life. I really am just waiting on some answers. I’m really am just waiting to see what I need to do next. I’m waiting for Wednesday to come around, so I can figure out what’s going on.

I’m also waiting for a call from the vet so I can go pick up my dog today.

Priorities.

 

Please leave a reply!

