Block 466: June 16, 2014

IMG_6635

Trying to keep expectations managed today.

Date: June 16, 2014

Crane: 466

Days Spent on Project: 483

Location: Richmond, VA

Person I would have sent it to: Rob K.

Rob was the sound designer who worked hard on creating the soundscape and aural world for Fela!. He would later, in the summer of 2010, go on to win the Best Sound Design Tony Award for a musical. It was one of three Tonys that Fela! would win- along with Best Costume (yay, us!) and Best Choreography.

I’ve been thinking a lot about sound design and Fela! and the Tonys in general in the past week. Yes, the awards were handed out just a week ago but, in that time, the Tonys Committee has announced that (after only 6 or 7 years of presenting the award) they will cease to honor sound designers with that kind of recognition. It’s a bit of a slap in the face to a group of designers, artists, and technicians who increasingly contribute more and more to the success of Broadway musicals and plays. I’ve got strong opinions about the decision, but I’ll keep my mouth shut for the moment.

Anyway, Rob has resurfaced in the past day, for having written a piece for Howlround about this issue. Back on Fela!, he was always incredibly game for the difficult challenge of maintaining the sound of Afrobeat while making it palatable to an audience expecting “Broadway-style” music, and also using sound to break down the fourth wall in a traditional theater experience. So much of Fela!’s success was how the sound brought you into world, making the energy of the Kalakuta visceral. It was really great work.

I hope the Tonys reverse their decision. We all make mistakes.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’ve got that Dancefloor music on this morning. It’s been so long since I’ve had a chance to listen to it that I don’t recognize anything that’s playing currently.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today, I’m telling myself to be patient.

I’m also telling myself not to… um… “count my chickens before they’ve hatched.”

I’m also telling myself that once these “chickens hatch,” they’ll be hatched and there’s no way to UN-hatch them so I better be damn well ready to accept them if they do indeed hatch as planned.

It would be a huge change, certainly. It would upend the last 8 years of my life. It would be an immediate whirlwind, happening so fast I’d just have to make the choice and act on it. There’d be no time for reflection, just enough time to commit.

But only if these chickens hatch, of course.

Is this what I want?

One thought on “Block 466: June 16, 2014

  1. Pingback: Block 466: June 16, 2014 | Tinseltown Times

Please leave a reply!

