Block 465: June 15, 2014

IMG_6631

Happy Father’s Day.

Date: June 15, 2014

Crane: 465

Days Spent on Project: 482

Location: Richmond, VA

Person I would have sent it to: Lauren R.

The third summer I worked on Fela!, 2010, I met Lauren. The design team was reassembled quickly late in the summer of 2010 to remount the now-Tony-Award-winning costume design for a new production set to open at the Royal National Theatre in London later in the Fall. I was brought back to re-shop the African fabrics, the accessories, and the random bits and bobs that we had purchased a year earlier from places that wouldn’t necessarily have those same items in stock.

Lauren was brought on board the design team as the new assistant set designer. Working under Tim, she would help him convert the set that lived in the Eugene O’Neill Theatre into something that could fill one of London’s theater spaces.

She and I had overlapped for one year at Yale; she was a first-year when I was in my third, and I remember her tackling all those first-year challenges when I was trying to graduate and move on. I haven’t run into Lauren in the four years since we worked on that production of Fela!.

It’s odd how some people can just float into your life for specific amounts of time, but then disappear so totally that you’re left completely unaware of any details in their life.

Music I listened to while sewing: My dog is snoring a few feet away from me this morning, and that’s awesome.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Something I’m learning after having spent over four weeks in Arkansas sleeping on a bed in a college dorm, preceded by over two weeks couch-surfing in Los Angeles?

A real bed is the most amazing thing.

Starting to think about what it would be like – and even how possible it would be – to drop everything in New York and move. What would I take? What would I get rid of? What’s so important that it would have to come along?

What would it be like to start over? And not only in a “new apartment or neighborhood” kind of way, but completely… as in “new city, new home, new job, new area of the country, no friends, a little alone” kind of way.

Yikes.

2 thoughts on “Block 465: June 15, 2014

  1. I’ve often said that with a pair of scissors (or rotary cutter), a couple of needles and some thread… with a few clay tools (for my other obsession), I could go anywhere — and have! New York will always be there.

Please leave a reply!

