Block 463: June 13, 2014

IMG_6615

Reunited with my dog after almost 8 weeks apart and everything feels so much better.

Also, I’m no longer in Arkansas.

Date: June 13, 2014

Crane: 463

Days Spent on Project: 480

Location: Richmond, Virginia

Person I would have sent it to: Tim M.

Tim came on board the design team for Fela! as we transferred the production to Broadway. He would become the Associate Set Designer; Katy, the off-Broadway assistant set designer, was pregnant and expecting her first child as we geared up for the next go-round.

Tim was also a graduate of the Yale School of Drama. He had spent a few years in New York before going to grad school; I always had the impression that time before going to the YSD was incredibly valuable for him as he had contacts and people to work with lined up when he was done. He would later continue to work on Fela! for the production in London, and then figure out logistics for its tour in Europe and the United States, if I remember correctly. He would later design his first Broadway production- The Mike Tyson play- a few years later.

Music I listened to while sewing: Again with the Robyn and Royksopp music. “Monument,” “Say It,” and “Do It Again” are fast becoming favorites.

Although, I should admit that I have Act 2 of PIPPIN going through my head too.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Sweet, sweet relief today.

My shoulders are relaxed for the first time in weeks. I slept on a real bed last night. I ate a real meal. I would say that I slept in, but my dog woke me up by head-butting me at 5:30am. I was fine with that.

So, now the waiting game and downtime begins. I don’t technically have to start working on anything immediately, so I’m going to allow myself- at the very least- the weekend to just unwind after the travels and experiences and work I’ve been doing since April. It’s time to start planning for the next theater season, wherever and whatever that will be. It looks like, for the moment, the next year will see me in New York, Providence, and Florida. If things stay the same, and my path isn’t redirected, I’ll be back in New York by July and I’ll have work to keep me occupied. If things get redirected, things will change majorly.

But, I’m just not sure yet. I will move forward as best I can, but I will allow myself the flexibility to change if necessary. I still think a change is necessary.

Meanwhile, my dog is passed out and snoring next to me on the bedroom floor and that feels great. Being separated for almost 2 months was too much. I don’t want to repeat that again.

Okay, off for a run. I haven’t run in three weeks and this is majorly overdue.

One thought on “Block 463: June 13, 2014

  1. Pingback: Block 463: June 13, 2014 | Tinseltown Times

Please leave a reply!

