Block 459: June 9, 2014

IMG_6600

Just get me out of here.

Date: June 9, 2014

Crane: 459

Days Spent on Project: 476

Location: Conway, Arkansas

Person I would have sent it to: Nicolas P.

I met Nicolas back in 2008, when we were working on Fela! in it’s first incarnation as an off-Broadway show and we rented an office space in Martin’s costume shop in Chelsea. He was just about to, or maybe he had just, finished a season of Project Runway. I spent more than a few minutes trying to get him to talk about the experience. I didn’t have to try very hard.

He still works within Martin’s costume shop, but designs his own clothes and costumes for events and celebrities and shows. In fact, earlier this year, I recommended him for a large project that I realized I was *not* a good fit for… I know we’re supposed to take anything that comes along, but I knew I wasn’t going to be invested in it at all, that I didn’t have the eye for the work they wanted me to do, and I didn’t feel comfortable taking the work. But, Nicolas; I thought it was right up his alley, and that he had the connections to do the piece well.

I don’t consider us the greatest friends, but we always talk when we see each other and it’s exciting to see his career moving like it is.

Music I listened to while sewing: On this particular grey and humid (how is that even possible?) day in Arkansas, I’m listening to Robyn and Royksopp again. Loving the song Monument, all ten minutes of it.

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Like I said above- just get me out of here.

Not to be ungrateful for the work and the experience, because it has certainly been interesting work and I’ve certainly *learned* a lot down here, but it’s time to go. We had our first dress rehearsal last night; our second is scheduled for tomorrow evening. We open on Wednesday. The show is up and running. It’s certainly “realized.”

But it’s honestly a letdown. It could have been so much better, and I can’t pinpoint where it went on this divergent path. I finished my drawings over four months ago. I bought and chose my fabric two months ago. My fabric and materials have been here longer than I have. I was upfront about what I wanted to do and build and make and alter and find and buy.

It’s disappointing, and I will own saying that. You can do all the preliminary work. You can discuss, brainstorm, research, discover, all you want… but if the people around you don’t want to invest in the work themselves, you have very little control over the final product. It could have been so much more and it is, honestly, for lack of effort on the part of the people hired to be here.

In some ways, New York has spoiled me incredibly. Everyone there working in theater wants to do it and realizes it’s a job, a job with deadlines and reputations, that has to get done. And, as insane and expensive as it is to live in New York, people will work hard even if it means working over lunch or late at night. People in New York *get* that theater isn’t, and will never be, a 9 to 5 job.

Rant done. The mic has been dropped.

It’s time to get out of here.

Please leave a reply!

