Block 458: June 8, 2014

IMG_6594

The only thing that would explain the past 24 hours would discovering that we’re in a Mercury Retrograde.

Date: June 8, 2014

Crane: 458

Days Spent on Project: 475

Location: Conway, Arkansas

Person I would have sent it to: Eduardo.

Eduardo was one of the many people who worked in Martin’s Costume Studio in Chelsea. I first met him in 2008, when I was the Assistant Costume Designer on Fela! and we rented one of their large dressing areas to serve as our design office.

I worked in that space that summer, then again in 2009 and 2010 twice. I feel like I spent a lot of time in that office, actually.

Last year, in 2013, I asked if I could use their studio space to dye a series of white costumes really vibrant colors for a dance piece I was designing. Even though they had just moved into their new space on 28th Street, and hadn’t quite figured out where their dyeing area was going to be, they let me stake out a corner of their workspace. Over the hours that I was there, Eduardo came over to talk.

I made some comment about being/feeling old. His response: no one in their mid-2os could feel that way. I told him I was actually in my mid-30s, and he went silent.

I did the math, and asked how old he thought I was when I first worked with their studio back in 2008.

Music I listened to while sewing: Robyn and Royksopp again! I’m in love with this music!

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: Today’s the big day for me… we start dress rehearsals for Pippin. I’ve been drawing and working on this show since December and I am so incredibly ready to get it on the stage and finished.

I’m also a wee bit nervous. I’m always nervous on the first day of rehearsal but, with this particular experience, I have no faith in their product. The wardrobe crew hasn’t shown up yet. There’s no contingency plan for problems or time to work on notes or money to buy or replace things. Some costumes won’t be done until tonight, when the actors arrive. There are several costumes that I haven’t seen in a while, and I have no idea how the shop was doing with notes and alterations and finishing the clothes. Many things were just pinned together days before. Several things weren’t even ready for a second fitting this past week. I’m more than a little apprehensive about what things will look like when I walk to the theater in a half an hour.

It must be a Mercury Retrograde because a lot of things that shouldn’t be going wrong are going wrong. Several costume mishaps have happened in the past 24 hours; if one of the garments shows up without arm or leg holes or in pieces or unfinished, I wouldn’t be surprised at this point.

I’m telling myself to expect very little. Manage those expectations!

But in four days, I’ll be on my way to the airport, heading to Virginia, and hopefully trying to figure out a game plan for the next part bit of my life.

Anyone have ideas what I could do?

One thought on “Block 458: June 8, 2014

  1. Someone once told me that I should have been more aware of what was going on right then, than what I was looking for. He had a been a prospective suitor, but I didn’t know it until years later! When I looked back at the historical moments, all I could do was do the palm of the hand to the forehead thing.

    I think your pup has already started wagging his little bum in anticipation of your arrival.

Please leave a reply!

