Block 444: May 25, 2014

IMG_6425

If I make big changes in my life, where do I start?

And how?

Date: May 25, 2014

Crane: 444

Days Spent on Project: 462

Location: Conway, Arkansas

Person I would have sent it to: Holly R.

I “met” Holly back in 2007. She was the costume designer that took over for me when my year-long contract with the Brown/Trinity Rep Consortium ended. For whatever reason, around November when I was finishing up my production of Life Is A Dream in Maine, I got a phone call from the production manager at the B/TRC. Holly was going to be leaving her position early, and they needed to find someone to finish the second half of the season.

As a freelance designer, of course I took the job. As someone who worked with those people just a few months prior, of course I wanted to head back and work with some friends. As a theater person, of course I wanted to know what was going on.

Anyway, in a way, I have to thank Holly for needing to leave the job because I had an opportunity to work with people I liked again; it was also another opportunity to do more shows and get some more cash.

I didn’t meet Holly until many years later. In that random way that New York City has of showing us how small a city of 8 million people can be, I have now worked with Holly several times. She had a job working as a shopper in one of the larger costume shops that builds clothes for Broadway, film, opera, and many other bigger-budget productions. After a few years of doing that, she’s now more of the “Front Desk Manager” (I guess?) there; she now supervises the shoppers that work there, keeps track of scheduling, on top of being the first person people see on their way in.

Music I listened to while sewing: I’m listening to the new Robyn/Royksopp song, “Say It” again. I’ve been listening to it as often as I can, and I’m okay with that. I think their new album comes out tomorrow?

Thoughts/Feelings behind the block: It’s time to put my money where my mouth is.

Yesterday I was asked about going to a play reading in New York on Thursday. It obviously won’t happen, since I’m in Arkansas, but they did ask if a Skype meeting might be more possible. It’s a new play, for the New York Fringe, opening sometime in August. After my experience with the New York Musical Theatre Festival, I swore I’d stay away from those projects for the rest of my life. But the director is a good friend of mine and I do like working with her. That’s a point in its favor.

But it’s also one of those “We don’t know what budget there is, or even if there is a budget, or if we can pay you” situations.

I’m committing myself to return to New York when I’m ready and not immediately after Arkansas. I’m not rushing back if my next job is a no-pay, no budget opportunity. That’s the truth right now. I don’t plan on heading back until the end of June.

I just have to tell them that.

This is where it gets hard. I have to tell people that I’m not rushing back.

The play doesn’t open until August, so it’s not like we don’t have time…

There’s a part of me that knows I have to commit and either start saying “no” to projects across the board, and start cutting my time in NYC off, OR I can retract all this and head back and still work for free and proceed to get more and more broke and frustrated.  There’s a part of me that wants to avoid replying to that email, to forget about it as it sits in my Inbox, and just be that kind of douche.

I guess I should read the play first.

I guess I need to plan what I’m actually going to be doing after I manage to escape Arkansas.

One thought on “Block 444: May 25, 2014

  1. =) #happyface

    [isn’t it funny how a =( or hashtag sadface response feels empty and somewhat lacking and in need of further explanation, but a =) hashtag happyface response can stand alone and carry so much meaning and expression without any further explanation?! Interesting.]

    have a great MDW! i’m off to Fire Island to let my social circles collide and see all those people i only see but once or twice a year.

Please leave a reply!

